HomePortalGalleryRegisterLog in

Stanford to International Students: Get the Booster or Face Deportation

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
RR Phantom

RR Phantom

Job/hobbies : Cayman Islands Actuary

Stanford to International Students: Get the Booster or Face Deportation Vide
PostSubject: Stanford to International Students: Get the Booster or Face Deportation   Stanford to International Students: Get the Booster or Face Deportation Icon_minitimeFri Apr 01, 2022 5:30 pm

The best universities in the world are supposed to be bastions of scientific reasoning. Instead, during the pandemic, they instituted policies that are at odds with basic principles of public health. This includes, unfortunately, Stanford University, where I am an international graduate student in the PhD program in Physics.

Stanford to International Students: Get the Booster or Face Deportation Stanford-campus

This spring, Stanford instituted a requirement that all students be vaccinated or else face an "enrollment hold" which restricts their ability to complete classes, progress on degrees, get financial aid or even live on campus. Though the university was not explicit, these restrictions on the unboosted amount to effective expulsion from the university.

COVID is a disease that discriminates by age. Nearly 80 percent of COVID-19 related deaths in the U.S. have occurred among people 65 or older, and young people like me are relatively spared from the risk of hospitalization and death if infected. While bad outcomes can still happen, the odds are in line with other risks in my own life that I happily take.

Because of this discrepancy, COVID vaccines are most important for the older population. The vaccines are very effective in reducing the risk of severe disease and death upon COVID infection, with the greatest absolute risk reduction for the older population. By the same token, the vaccine is much less beneficial for young people like me.