View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
CovOps

CovOps

Female Location : Ether-Sphere
Job/hobbies : Irrationality Exterminator
Humor : Über Serious

Walter Block: How I Profess My Libertarianism to My Students Vide
PostSubject: Walter Block: How I Profess My Libertarianism to My Students   Walter Block: How I Profess My Libertarianism to My Students Icon_minitimeTue Mar 19, 2019 11:17 pm

I am a professor (I teach economics at Loyola University New Orleans). In my view, this means I should profess something. I would be bland and uninteresting to my students if all I did was offer them all sides of every controversial issue in an even-handed way, so that none of them even had a clue as to where I stood on any topic. Of course, I would be derelict in my duty if I only offered my own viewpoint. As John Stuart Mill says in his “On Liberty” (paraphrase) “if you only know your own side of an argument, you don’t even know that, since all views are contrasted with all others.” I thus feel obligated to acquaint my students with a plethora of viewpoints. So, what do I profess? Austrian economics and libertarian political economy. I offer to my students all sides of an issue, but within five minutes of my first lecture they can readily discern precisely where I stand.

https://www.realclearmarkets.com/articles/2019/03/19/how_i_profess_my_libertarianism_to_my_students_103667.html
Back to top Go down
RR Phantom

RR Phantom

Job/hobbies : Cayman Islands Actuary

PostSubject: Re: Walter Block: How I Profess My Libertarianism to My Students   Walter Block: How I Profess My Libertarianism to My Students Icon_minitimeWed Mar 20, 2019 10:00 pm

CovOps wrote:
“if you only know your own side of an argument, you don’t even know that, since all views are contrasted with all others.”

Solution: Don't argue with others!
Back to top Go down
CovOps

CovOps